Knowledge Base

Documentation to help you use the POEditor localization platform effectively

Localization project settings

Owner Admin

The Settings page of any localization project hosted on POEditor is divided into the sections General, Access to Project, Advanced and Transfer/Delete.

Project Settings - POEditor localization management platform

General settings

In this section, you can edit the name of the localization project and its description (in Markdown format) - which will appear in the invitation emails sent to contributors and on the join page for public projects.

The Default Reference Language is displayed in the language pages, instead of the project terms. Using this feature is recommended when the localization files you work with contain keys/string IDs.

If you set a DRL on the project, you'll also have the option Mark strings as fuzzy in other languages available when you click on Edit Project Details. Enable this option if you want strings in the target languages of a project to be set as fuzzy automatically when a string in the Default Reference Language is changed in the user interface.

The Export Empty Translations from option allows you to fill in the empty translation fields of the localization file you are exporting with translations from another language in the localization project.

When exporting strings with plurals to the Android .xml format, it will also fill in the empty plural forms with translations (in the singular form) from the selected language.

Access to Project

Here, project owners can add/remove administrators and proofreaders to/from the project. Admins can also add or remove proofreaders.

The Code Hosting Service Integration section provides links to the GitHub, Bitbucket, GitLab, Azure DevOps integration pages.

If you are the project owner and you have an integration with GitHub, Bitbucket, GitLab or Azure DevOps set up, you will see the option Admins Can Use Integrations, which you can enable to allow the project admin(s) to import/export using the integration.

Advanced settings

Read Access to All Languages gives contributors the possibility to use any of the available languages with the Set Reference Language option. The reference language set by a contributor overrides the Default Reference Language set by an owner or by an admin.

In Advanced Settings, you can also control the access to the Automatic Translation feature. Setting it to Limited allows only owners and administrators to use machine translation in the project, while setting it to Everyone also grants access to contributors.

The Proofreading option allows owners, administrators and other contributors with proofreading rights to exercise their proofreader roles. Once proofreading is enabled, a button will appear on the settings page, making it possible for owners and admins to assign new proofreaders to the project from the current list of contributors.

Proofreaders can only check the translations of the languages they are assigned to as contributors. If the contributor is removed from the contributor list, he will also lose his proofreader role in the localization project.

If you don't want contributors without proofreading rights to be able to edit or delete proofread translations, you can enable the option Lock Proofread Translations.

In the project' settings, you can also file a request for free localization for your Open Source Project.

Enabling the option Public Project lets translators join the project by themselves, accessing the public join page in the generated link. A few specific features appear in Advanced Settings when a project is public: New Contributors Require Moderation, Contributors Can Add New Languages and Lock Completed Languages.

If you enable New Contributors Require Moderation, the project owner or admins will need to approve new contributors who enroll via the public Join page.

The Contributors Can Add New Languages option allows users to add languages to a public project in the Join page, when they become a contributor.

Lock Completed Languages hides 100% translated languages from the public project's Join page.

Transfer / Delete

The options to delete or transfer a localization project are also available in the project's Settings.

The Request Project Transfer option can be used to move the project to the account of another POEditor user, or to an organization where you have a manager role.

Related articles