Knowledge Base

Documentation to help you use the POEditor localization platform effectively

Differences between project owners and administrators

Owner Admin

The roles with the most privileges in a POEditor localization project are owner and admin. Although these roles are fairly similar, there are a few important differences between them:

  1. Administrators can’t delete or move projects. Unlike the project owner, the project administrators are limited with regard to the possibility of deleting or moving the localization projects they are administrating.
  2. Administrators can’t add or delete other administrators. Administrators can be added to a localization project only by the project's owner, by introducing the name and e-mail address of the chosen person in the corresponding fields in the project's Settings.
  3. Administrators can't set up integrations with Git hosting services. Although localization project admins cannot set up the integrations with GitHub, Bitbucket, GitLab or Azure Repos, the owner of the project can share access to an already set up integration page in the project's settings, as described here.
  4. Administrators can't see the Activity Log, Webhooks Log or Callbacks Log for the projects hosted on the owner's account, because the events in these projects are logged in the account hosting the projects only. An admin can, however, view the API Log, if they use their own API key to manage the data between POEditor and their instance.

To add an administrator to a localization project, go to to the project's Settings and, in the Access to Project section, use the option Add Administrator.

Add Administrator (Project Settings) - POEditor Localization Tool

If you purchase a subscription for your account and you are the admin of a project, the strings in that project will not be counted against your account's string limit, but against the owner's. If you want to pay for the owner's account, they can add you as Alternative Payer. You can also move your assets to an organization to share billing access with multiple users.

Related articles